Fix the Match-Up Algorithm

I love this game, but something I’ve noticed and is frustrating it how the game matches players up for battles. It seems like the only way it deems a match to be “fair” is to have players with similar decks oppose each other.

For example, when I use my red damage dealing deck, I get mainly matched up with other red damage dealing or red/yellow damage dealing decks. My green buff deck gets matched against a similar green buff deck. Green/yellow sacrifice against green/yellow sacrifice. My multi-color wild deck, go figure, get’s match against a similar multi-color wild deck. Blue or Red Faeria reduction decks, you guessed it… the same type of opponents.

I admit I’m not a expert player, but I’m also not on the low end either. I figure I’m a good average to better than average player. It seems like the algorithm is designed to only allow certain types of decks to play against each other. With such a wide variety of cards and deck design options, it seems a shame to not be able to try different styles against each other. I’ve got several “interesting” game mechanic decks I like to play, but invariably I’m always matched up to the 5 or 6 best tournament style decks out there. The variations seem non-existent at this point as everyone plays almost the same decks against each other with only minor variations because that is the only way to win. Many cards seem to be left unused because of this as well (despite the fact of not have other similar support cards to build decks around).

Side note: some of the few times I’ve seen non-similar deck matches come across as grossly uneven. A slow green buff deck is hard pressed to deal with fast yellow haste / destroy deck for example.

I don’t believe your competitors like Hearthstone, Magic, etc would match players based on deck designs. A white Magic deck wouldn’t only be matched up versus another white deck, or black versus black only, etc.