Question about protection

How come when i use protection on one of my creatures it does not protect against last nightmare or frogify? But it protects me from other creatures with death touch.

Hi RobertNoble!

This might seem confusing at first, buy what protection does to a creature is:

The next time this creature would take damage, it ignores it and loses Protection instead.

A Last Nightmare does not actually deal damage, it straight up destroys it. And Frogify transforms it.
Protection does however work against Flame Burst, Souldrain, Groundshaker etc because they deal damage.

For creatures with Deathtouch, it reads like this:

Instantly destroy any creature this creature damages.

And since Protection ignores the damage, the Deathtouch effect doesn’t trigger.

I hope this helps! Don’t hesitate to ask again if there is something you don’t understand!

1 Like

@J0k3se thanks i guess that does make sense. Just started playing about a week ago

1 Like