My first few thoughts and feedback about Faeria (in general)

Hello everyone! With this post, I want to share my general feedback about Faeria and as well propose some balance- and quality of life (QoL)-changes.

First of all, let me introduce myself: Faeria is my 3rd TCG, after a lot of Hearthstone (usually rank 5 each season) and some months of Scrolls. So you could say that the concept of TCGs isn’t new to me, however, I’m not an expert. That said, I like games (and decks) that give you a lot of options and, therefore, something to think about and to plan your strategy with.

I stumbled into Faeria during the steam summer-sale. When I saw the trailer, it seemed too good to be true: A
skill-based trading card game with a complex board- and resource-system. The game at least looked like it had taken most of the good aspects from Hearthstone and Scrolls while avoiding (most of) the bad stuff. When I read the reviews on steam, I was not so sure anymore. It seemed a lot of players quitted, because of “Faeria becoming more and more like Hearthstone”, meaning especially regarding the bad stuff: “A game that sells itself as a skill-based strategy game, while adding more and more rng-elements and simplifying the gameplay.”

However, I finally decided to give it a try, and for the time being, I didn’t regret it.

So here are my first few thoughts, gathered over my first month of Faeria. Oh, I also read some of the other feedback threads. I will link them, when there was a thread with a good idea I agree with.

I. Stuff that I like about Faeria (you can skip this paragraph, if you aim for the change proposals)

1. Cool and deep Mechanics